* CSU Stanislaus Library Library Home
Internet Resources for Grant Writing

Grants Terminology | General Resources  | Federal Resources  
California Resources | Proposal Writing Guidance

 

Return to GRANTS AND PROPOSAL WRITING

GRANTS TERMINOLOGY
The National Taxonomy of Exempt Entities (NTEE) offers a definitive classification system for nonprofit organizations recognized as tax exempt.  These codes facilitate precise tracking of grants and recipients and identify the "official" terms that represent thousands of subject areas and recipient types.  Code definitions are described in the following sites:

NCCS - Guide to the National Taxonomy of Exempt Entities
Provides extensive information about the NTEE classification system and lengthy definitions of the codes.
 
National Center for Charitable Statistics (NCCS)
Background information on the development of the codes as well as specific definitions.  Discusses the alignment of NTEE (National Taxonomy of Exempt Entities) with NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) and SIC (Standard Industrial Classificaton).
 
The Foundation Center's Grants Classification
A classification system that is based on the NTEE model and has additional indexing elements.

GENERAL RESOURCES

The Foundation Center
Information about all types of grantmaking organizations, online library resources, links to regional offices, tips and resources for grantseekers.
GrantsWeb
A comprehensive, award-winning site sponsored by The International Society of Research Administrators.  Provides links to public and private funding sources and gives information about policy changes, legal issues, regulations, and agency guidelines.
 
The Chronicle of Philanthropy
The internet newspaper about the grant world.  "Internet Resources" categories include the arts, education, environment, health, public policy.  "Art" category provides links to "management and fund-raising for arts organizations."
     
University of Wisconsin, Madison Grants Information Center
Links to many grants-related databases and resources.

FEDERAL RESOURCES

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
Describes all federal programs, projects, services, and activities that provide assistance or benefits to the American public.
Cultural Funding:  Federal Opportunities
A National Endowment for the Arts online resource.  Describes federal funding available for arts initiatives through national, state, and local funding programs.
       
GrantsNet:  Department of Health & Human Services
A search engine provided by this department to assist the public in finding grant funds available through HHS and selected other federal grants programs.
 
National Endowment for the Arts
Information about direct grants to individuals for literature fellowships, American jazz fellowships, and National Heritage fellowships in the folk and traditional arts.
 
National Endowment for the Humanities
An independent grant-making agency of the U.S. government.  Supports research, educational, and public programs in the humanities.  Includes a search engine for this site and other humanities sites.
 
National Science Foundation:  Funding -- Overview of Grants and Awards
Information about science and engineering grants available from this agency.
 
U. S. Department of Education:  Office of the Chief Financial Officer -- Grants & Contracts Information
Extensive information about grants available from this department and links to other federal grant sites.
U. S. Department of Energy:  Office of Science -- Grants and Contracts Web Site
Detailed information about grants available from this department.

CALIFORNIA RESOURCES

Arts Education Online (AEOL)
A web page sponsored by The California Arts Project (TCAP).  Provides professional development assistance in the visual and performing arts to elementary, secondary, and postsecondary educators throughout California.
 
California Council for the Humanities (CCH)
The web site for the California state affiliate of the National Endowment for the Humanities.
 
California Office of the Secretary for Education
Information about grants to local mentoring programs which support a "statewide plan to match every child in need with an academic mentor."  Other funding opportunities that support education are also described.
 
Nonprofit Genie
A web page sponsored by C-Map (California Management Assistance Partnership).  Links to many nonprofit resources including a "Nonprofit Web Directory."  Also has articles and interviews with experts concerning issues relevant to the nonprofit world.  

PROPOSAL WRITING GUIDANCE

A Proposal Writing Short Course
The Foundation Center gives step-by-step guidance in writing a proposal.
 
Proposal Writer's Guide
The University of Michigan's Division of Research Development offers an online guide to proposal writing.
 
 EPA Tutorial
A tutorial developed by the Environmental Protection Agency to help grantseekers produce more competitive grant applications.
 
 Proposal Writing, Government Contracting
A private consultant's (Deborah Kluge) web site offers information on proposal writing.  Includes a search engine and links to other grant-making organizations.
       

Return to GRANTS AND PROPOSAL WRITING