* CSU Stanislaus Library Library Home

Children's Literature:  Internet Resources

Return to "A Guide to Children's Literature"

General Sites  |  Award-Winning Books, Notable Books  |  Bibliographies  |  How To's

General Sites

The Children's Literature Web Guide
Links to many web sites that focus on children's literature, authors, storytelling, awards, teaching ideas. (David K. Brown, University of Calgary).
Kay Vandergrift's Children's Literature Page
An excellent resource:  Essays on many aspects of children's literature; book lists for diverse groups of children; much more.  (Rutgers University).
Infomine
Infomine is a subject guide to academic level web sites; it is developed and maintained by college librarians.  A keyword search with the phrase "children's literature"  retrieves many good children's literature web sites.
Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site
A collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom, and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes and professional topics.
International Children's Digital Library
A 5-year research project to develop innovative software and a collection of books that specifically address the needs of children as readers.  Interdisciplinary researchers from computer science, library studies, education, art, and psychology are working together with children to design this new library.  With participants from around the world, the ICDL is building an international collection that reflects both the diversity and quality of children's literature.  Currently the collection includes materials donated from 27 cultures in 15 languages.
Google:  Children's Literature
Links to many web sites.  Categories include authors, awards, book series, publishers, reviews, young adult.

Return to Top

Award-Winning Books, Notable Books

Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature (DAWCL)
A tailored reading list of quality children's literature (3,500 records from 49 awards).  Designed for teachers and librarians.  (Lisa R. Bartle, CSU San Bernadino).
ALSC -- Awards and Grants
A page created by the Association of Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association.  Links to major awards and annual lists of Notable Children's Books.
Newbery Medal Home Page
Award for outstanding literary content.
Caldecott Medal Home Page
Award for outstanding illustrations
Mildred L. Batchelder Award
Recognizes outstanding books that are originally published in a foreign language and are subsequently translated into English.
Pura Belpre Award
Recognizes Latina/o authors whose work celebrates the Latino cultural experience.
Coretta Scott King Award
Recognizes authors of African descent whose books promote an understanding and appreciation of the "American Dream."
Michael Printz Award
Recognizes excellence in literature for young adults.
John and Patricia Beatty Award Information Page
Recognizes children's books that promote an awareness of California and its people.
California Young Reader Medal (CYRM)
Books selected by school-age children in California.  Sponsored by the California Association of Teachers of English, the California Library Association, the California Reading Association, and the California School Library Association.

Return to Top

Bibliographies

Reading/Language Arts - Recommended Literature:  Kindergarten Through Grade Twelve.  California Department of Education
Lists of books recommended for use in California public schools.
The American Experience:  Strength from Diversity
A bibliography of books that celebrate the diversity found in communities in the United States.  Prepared in 1998-99 and 1999-2000 by committees sponsored by the Association of Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association.
Bilingual Books for Children
A bibliography of bilingual books currently in print.  Prepared by the 2000-2001 and 2001-2002 Association of Library Service to Children International Relations Committee.
Outstanding Books for the College Bound
This list is intended as a tool for college-bound students, educators, librarians, and parents.  Prepared by YALSA, the Young Adults Library Services Association, a division of ALA.
Reading Rainbow
Book lists from the public television program.
Amelia Bloomer Project 2002:  List of Recommended Feminist Books for Youth
Sponsored by the Feminist Task Force of the Social Responsibilities Round Table of the American Library Association.
Guys Read:  A Literacy Initiative for Boys
Well-regarded children's author Jon Scieszka has begun a literacy program to connect boys with books they will want to read.  The web site includes a discussion of reasons boys may not be good readers, suggestions for parents and teachers, and lists of books boys like.

Return to Top

How To's

How to Raise a Reader
Suggestions for how to foster a love of learning in infants and otddlers.  Includes lists of books that are appropriate for very young children.
10 Quick Ways to Analyze Children's Books for Racism and Sexism.
Guidelines developed by The Council on Interracial Books for Children.

 

Library Catalog | Contact Us | Quick Links | What's New | Help


This document is maintained by: the CSUS Library(wwwlibrary@wwwlibrary.csustan.edu)
Page updated: 08/23/2008