|
|
Getting Started
| Comprehensive
| Other Databases
| Related Subjects
|
|
Getting Started:
- Academic Search Elite
Index to over 8 million articles published in over 3000 periodicals, including 2500 peer-reviewed journals representing all disciplines. Also includes the full-text of the artices from over 1500 peer-reviewed journals and 500 general periodicals.
- CQ Electronic Library
Includes the full-text
of the CQ Researcher (in-depth overview of political issues from 1991 - present),
CQ Weekly Report (detailed coverage of Congress from 1983 - present),
the Encyclopedia of the American Government, and the CQ Public
Affairs Collection (including primary source documents).
|
Most Comprehensive:
- Lexis-Nexis: Academic Search
Full-text of news and legal sources, including local U.S., national, and international newspapers,
news magazines, television public affairs talk shows, and legal materials.
- Public Administration Abstracts (via
EBSCO)
Citations to and abstracts of books, articles, government publications, and research studies
on issues in Public Administration from 1998 - present.
|
|
Other Useful Databases:
- Social Sciences Full Text
Searches the abstracts (descriptions) of 700,000 articles published in 600 leading social science journals from 1984 to the present.
- ABI/Inform Global
One of the databases availble through the ProQuest system, includes select full-text from 1800 business periodicals covering topics such as economic
conditions, management, human resources,
finance, etc. Includes full-text of The Wall Street Journal from
1984 - present.
- Emerald
Includes the full-text of management journals, including a dozen relating to public sector management, from 1994 - present.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text of newspapers and other periodicals of the ethnic, minoirty and native press. 1990 - present
- ICPSR Data Sets
The Inter-univeristy Consortium for Political and Social Research provides access to research data sets gathered by governments, academic researchers, non-profit organizations and other organizations. Data sets generally include individual responses to surveys, and need to be analyzed using a program like SPSS. [guide]
- JSTOR
Includes the full-text of a dozen academic political science journals from 1907 - 1990's.
- Project Muse
Full-text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences,
including more than a dozen politics and policy studies journals.
Coverage includes the current and previous year; backfiles vary.
|
See Also:
|
|
|
Return to Databases by Subject
|