spacer
Description and Information
Grove Art now Oxford Art Online
The Grove Art Online service has been expanded and is now part of Oxford Art Online. While retaining the content from The Dictionary of Art by Grove, this service now includes several other key reference works in the field of art: the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Description: Excellent introductions to and overviews of artists, works, styles, and movements in the visual arts.
What's Covered: Encyclopedia articles, images, and dictionary entries.
Subjects Covered: Visual Art, Art History.
Access to the full-text: Almost all of the resources are immediately available via the Oxford Art Online site.
Dates Covered: Current edition of key reference works covering the visual arts throughout history.
Reference Books/Sets Included:
The Dictionary of Art
Oxford Companion to Western Art
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
Number of Records:
The Dictionary of Art: 45,000 peer-reviewed articles (including 21,000 biographies)
Grove Art Online: 5,000 embedded images and links to 40,000 images at museums world-wide
Oxford Companion to Western Art: 26,000 brief articles
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics: 600 articles
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms: 1,800 definitions
Availability: Available freely on-campus, off-campus restricted to current CSU Stanislaus faculty, students and staff
Platform: Oxford Art Online
CSU Stanislaus URL: http://library.csustan.edu/s/purl.php?855
Default search: Boolean AND
Truncation symbol: *
Phrase searching: "phrase" (enclose phrase in quotation marks)
Boolean AND: and
Boolean OR: or
Boolean NOT: not
spacer
Contact The Library | Help | Library Home Page
University Library, One University Circle, Turlock, CA 95382
This document is maintained by: Library Web Services (wwwlibrary@wwwlibrary.csustan.edu)
Page updated: 08/22/2008