* CSU Stanislaus Library Library Home

Music Databases

Getting Started | Comprehensive | Other | Related Subjects

Getting Started:

  • Academic Search Elite
    Index to over 8 million articles published in over 3000 periodicals, including 2500 peer-reviewed journals representing all disciplines. Also includes the full-text of the artices from over 1500 peer-reviewed journals and 500 general periodicals.

  • Grove Music Online
    Leading English-Language encyclopedias on music, opera and jazz
    Now part of Oxford Music Online

  • Library Catalog
    Catalog of books, CDs, scores and other materials available in the CSUS Library.

  • Oxford Music Online
    Introductions to and overviews of musicians, compositions, and other topics on music from all historical eras.
    more information

Most Relevant:

  • Classical Music Library (CML)
    A service that streams music via the Internet to listeners. The service offers a continually growing music collection, currently consisting of over 19,000 classical music tracks (not works) from over 500 composers, as well as thousands of cross-referenced program notes, suggested playlists, biographies and images.

  • Music Index
    Index of articles in select music journals, from 1949-present.
    Available in print in the Reference Room: Ref. ML118 .M84

  • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
    Index and description of articles in music, from 1967-1997.
    Available in print in the Reference Room: Ref. ML 1 .I83

  • WorldCat
    Catalog of materials held in libraries across the nation.


Other Useful Databases:

  • Humanities Full Text
    Searches the abstracts (descriptions) of 250,000 articles and reviews of 300,000 books published in 600 leading humanities journals from 1984 to the present.

  • Project MUSE
    Full-text of five Music journals, including The Opera Quarterly.

See Also:


Return to Databases by Subject

Library Catalog | Contact Us | Quick Links | What's New | Help


This document is maintained by: the CSUS Library(wwwlibrary@wwwlibrary.csustan.edu)
Page updated: 08/23/2008