spacer
Description and Information
Description: Basic introduction to over 75,000 different topics, including encyclopedia articles, maps, news, definitions, and statistics.
What's Covered: Encyclopedia articles, word look-up (dictionary/thesaurus), media (photographs and selected audio/video files), famous quotations, country profiles, selected websites and news articles.
Subjects Covered: Basic information from all disciplines.
Access to the full-text: Almost all of the resources are immediately available via the Britannica Online site. Access to websites and classic works are available to other sites.
Dates Covered: Encyclopedias and dictionaries: current edition; Book of the Year: 1993 - present.
Reference Books/Sets Included:
Encyclopaedia Britannica,
Britannica Concise Encyclopedia,
Britannica Book of the Year,
Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus
World Data Analyst
Journal/Periodical Titles Covered: 700+ (list of periodical titles)
Number of Records: Encyclopaedia Britannica: 73,000 articles; Britannica Concise Encyclopedia: 28,000 articles; Notable Quotations: 4000 quotations.
Availability: Available freely on-campus, off-campus restricted to current CSU Stanislaus faculty, students and staff
Platform: Britannica Online
CSU Stanislaus URL: http://library.csustan.edu/s/purl.php?18
Standard Search:
Default search: Boolean AND
Truncation symbol: not available
Phrase searching: "phrase" (enclose phrase in quotation marks)
Boolean AND: AND (all capital letters)
Boolean OR: OR (all capital letters)
Boolean NOT: NOT (all capital letters)
Advanced Search:
Default search: Boolean AND
Truncation symbol: not available
Phrase searching: "exact phrase" search box
Boolean And: "all of these words" search box
Boolean OR: "any of these words" search box
Boolean NOT: "without these words" search box
spacer
Contact The Library | Help | Library Home Page
University Library, One University Circle, Turlock, CA 95382
This document is maintained by: Library Web Services (wwwlibrary@wwwlibrary.csustan.edu)
Page updated: 01/05/2009